Wife is 7 weeks pregnant. When does the anxiety go away?

allenard77

We are both mid 30s. We’ve been trying for years. We did three cycles of IVF and got 9 embryos. She became pregnant after the first transfer.

I am trying my best to stay level headed and I am reminding myself it’s too early to get attached, but it’s really hard when I am reminded what size fruit the baby is week by week.

It hit me hard during the 6 week ultrasound. Seeing it was fine, but hearing the heart beat made it real and at this point I feel I’m just as anxious as my wife and scared something is going to happen.

Been reading too many horror stories of miscarriages so I guess I just have myself freaked out and wanted to put my thoughts down.

When did the anxiety and fear is miscarriage lessen for you?

@allenard77 On my 40th birthday, my mother called me and told me that she thought that she could stop worrying about me, finally. I graduated from medical school at age 27.

@alyakim I was gonna say that my kid is 4.5 and the anxiety hasn’t subsided yet. But I think your mom worrying for you at 40 trumps me and my kid for 4.5.

@duane37 My stomach just plummeted thinking of making it 9 months only for it to be stillborn. I don’t think I’d have the strength to overcome that scenario. Here’s hoping to a healthy pregnancy and healthy birth.

@allenard77 Anything after 20 weeks is considered a stillbirth and not miscarriage. I’m sorry! I wasn’t trying to give you any reason to worry more! I was just telling you that the worrying never really stops, it’s part of the process. I promise that it gets better though!

@duane37 ... And after that you worry about them running into the
street and getting hit by a car

... Or choking while eating the same snack they've always eaten

... Or getting some weird fatal or life altering disease or disorder....

Or......