When are you getting to spend time with your babies?

eric1844

First and only LO is 7 months. I’m an attorney. I had maternity leave for 3 months and then wfh for 3 months. I just finished my first full month full time in the office….and how are y’all doing it???

My work schedule used to be 9a-6pm or later, depending on my work load.

Now, no matter how early I start, I’m still finishing around 6p, getting home between 630-7p (depending who picks up LO from my sister who babysits (I like to pick him up sometimes to visit my family)). We eat dinner and shower, and LO is showering by 8p and in bed by 830p. I do some work from home in the morning but in the office by 9a-10a. The problem is that LO doesn’t wake up til 730a and I still need to feed him before heading to my sister’s.

When do you get to spend time with your babies??? That leaves me with barely 2 hours a day with him. That sucks.

@eric1844 Hey fellow attorney mom. I WFH a couple days to minimize wasted commute time and then I end my day at 4:30, do my timesheet, and out door by 4:45 knowing I will work from 7:30-10:00 in the evening to make up the lost time when needed. Sometimes I tell myself I will get in the office super early too but I’m more of a night owl. I tell my coworkers and clients I have to leave at a strict time for daycare pickup. I put my meeting cut off time in my outlook to set expectations.

@eric1844 I get about 40 mins in the morning with my kids and 1.5 hours at night - they need their sleep so there's no way to adjust that time in the evening sadly (and in some ways it's nice, I get to exercise and have alone time with my husband). I try to make the most of our time together on the weekends and dedicate it to family time.