Sometimes I feel like I am just bankrolling my husband’s identity crisis

goldensleather

Venting more than anything. My husband and I have been married 6 years, and had 3 kids in 18 months (because twins…) It hasn’t been easy. Our marriage has basically been a rollercoaster of blessings (kids) and disappointments (everything else). I’m an attorney. We got married right after I graduated law school and I had a job at a prestigious firm, crazy high starting salary and all. He started medical school as soon as we got married. Our original plan was for me to work while he was in school and in training to set us up well financially, then think about kids and I could stay home while the kids were little - reevaluate the rest once they were in school. After a year of the law firm, I was pregnant with our first and couldn’t keep up with the pace and have a healthy pregnancy, so I found a job in-house with a company. I still have a pretty great salary, and lots of stability and actual work/life balance. He did okay in med school, but it was complicated by those 3 kids in 18 months (all special surprises…the twins doubly so). Med school was marked by chaos and babies and COVID and it was just a mess. He graduated, but long story short, he left his training about a year and a half ago because neither of us were coping at home and he was at risk of flaming out anyway. He has been home ever since.