“GeT rEaDy!”

richardnm

My brother, who has a 2 year old boy, keeps sending me and my partner photos of his kid doing annoying things and saying, “get ready!” As if we’re about to join some miserable club.
But, like, maybe our daughter won’t pull all the toilet paper off the roll for fun or maybe I won’t hate my life if I decide to paint my kid’s bedroom on a Saturday night!
I know it’s not meant to be malicious but it’s kind of annoying. Anyone else’s family or friends with kids do this?

@richardnm I feel you. It’s very annoying when parents talk about parenting like it’s some sort of curse. I hate the “just wait until….” Lines too. Really annoying.

@movingon Yeah...I dunno, I have 3 going on 4 kids, and I've been doing this for 15 years...and yes it's hard, and I absolutely support parents having outlets.

But the "jUsT wAiT" narrative is just as annoying and distasteful to me as it must have been the first time I heard it, when I myself was about to be a parent. Even now, even after the empathy that parenting has afforded me, I find it kind of disgusting. Being a parent is not a curse in my view, and anyone who acts like it is...I feel sorry for them and sorrier for their kids.

@richardnm Nah it's mean and negative to the kid. Someone here on the sub suggested a response "oh, sorry it's so hard for you" or even "oh, sorry that you're not enjoying being a parent"

@richardnm I don't have a kid and I think it's cute. I don't know your brother, maybe he is complaining, but to me it sounds like he's just trying to bond over funny kid stuff? Pulling all the toilet paper off the roll is funny! How can you not laugh at that?

@richardnm I don’t know…I also find people to sometimes just like to complain. Parenting is hard but you literally chose to be a parent and some tried for a long time, why then spend so much time complaining about it? Maybe I just have a different perspective