I hate the notion that SAHPs are gold diggers/lazy

daryle

Like seriously F off. And screw the equality argument. As if women aren’t doing literal work too. Or is it not equal because it’s “womens work”. If someone was a nanny and made 50k a year, is it still lazy????

Mega eye roll.

@daryle Judging people about the kind of work they do is just bullshit in general. We shouldn’t be denigrating “burger flippers” or “toilet cleaners” either. It’s all work.

@caelo21 I hate the idea that when you do have a job it’s supposed to be something meaningful. I don’t see what’s wrong with work just being a way to get money.

@drdeck Right? I'm a professor and some of the pressure I see on students to become the next doctor when they would have been way happier in a trade is immense. Find something that you love or can put up with to pay the bills, or literally any job so you can pay rent, and be open to change if you hate it.

@drdeck For me personally, I would stab my eyes out if my work weren’t “meaningful” and satisfying at the end of the day.

But as a societal rule, yes I agree.

@bharati21 Same. We did a Jack Daniels tour last year. At the factory portion, I asked if they change jobs throughout the day she said no. The QCer just does that. The box maker just does that. In my head, I was like “ughhhhh, I hope they make $100k bc it sounds horrible. I would die.”

That night there was a post on r/jobs or r/adulting about just wanting a repetitive factory work job where they could listen to music for 8-10 hour straight. It hit me so hard then.

@daryle It’s weird I don’t think badly of others for being stay at home parents but I do think badly of myself I wish I could get a job that worked around school hours or paid enough to offset the difficulties it would cause like needing childcare in the holidays or having to sort out who would get them when they are ill. Maybe it’s partly because I’m bad at all of it.