Preschool Graduation at 9:30am

My youngest goes to a full time daycare/preschool and will be “graduating” in a few weeks. The calendar says graduation will be after 4pm. Apparently I missed a one-liner in last month’s newsletter that the graduation is now 9:30. I just learned about the time switch today. I’m a teacher. Our last day of school is the same day as her graduation and we end at 10.

Why on earth would they schedule a graduation early in the morning at a school where all the parents are full time working parents? And why wouldn’t you make the announcement really damn big if you were changing it from what has been on the calendar all year? I usually love her daycare, but this just sucks.

There are complicating factors as to why I may not be able to just call in sick that day, and while I’m working with my kid’s preschool to see if there’s any way to shift the time, I feel nauseous thinking that I may miss her graduation. She’s my youngest, I’m already emotional about my baby starting kindergarten, and now…this.

ETA: The original calendar said 4:30–I checked. The change just happened. Additionally, each of the other younger classes (2s, 3s, young 4s) all have their “moving up” ceremonies earlier that week at 4:30. The change for my kid’s class is sudden and anomalous, which is why I’m so frustrated.

My work situation is complicated. If I have to, I’ll end up missing work to attend the ceremony, bc my children do come first. But the whole thing could have been avoided if they just stuck to the original schedule!

@searchingforchrist How is your attendance? How much shit would you be in if the night before, you suddenly had a major bout of diarrhea? Maybe some covid symptoms too? Oh shit it is 6 AM and you can’t even make it out of bed? That cough is nasty