Please explain test strips to me like I’m 5!

jackie

As the title states, the more I read about how to interpret the test strips, the more confused I get. I’m new to testing and test daily from CD 12 on (I have a 31 day cycle). I am able to feel something around my ovulation and my cervical mucus changes. Last cycle, I had these symptoms on CD 21 and when I took a test that night the line on my test strip was slightly darker than the control line. What does that mean?? Does it mean I ovulate 24-48 hours after that? Or does that mean I was ovulating at that moment? When should we be absolutely having sex to ensure we don’t miss the window? My gyno told me (before I even started using the strips) that if there is any confusion, it’s safest to just have sex every other day from CD 12 to CD 24 (she said normally she tells people CD 10-20 but since I have a longer cycle do 12-24).

@jackie Your doctor is right. And you can ovulate anywhere from 12-38 hours after a LH rise which is when the line is as dark as the control or peak. But it’s not exact so that’s why they say every other day in that window is the smartest. Unless you’re doing ultrasounds and blood tests, opk strips and even temping isn’t exact.

@jackie I used ovulation strips for all 6 of my intended pregnancies and managed to get pregnant in either 1 or 2 cycles, never having to have sex more than 3 times with each try (and often just 2 times) in the fertile window predicted by the strips. (The suggestion to have sex on schedule every other day from CD 12-24 just sounds exhausting by comparison.)