OH mY gOd yOu'Re sO bIG!

knish

I'm 15 weeks pregnant with my second baby and never quite lost the bump after my first, so I look like I'm showing quite prominently. People (mostly my mum, but others also) seem to take great joy in telling me how HUGE I am, my dates MUST BE wrong, surely there isn't just ONE baby in there?

It isn't hard folks. Just stop commenting on other people's bodies. It really is that simple.

@knish Opposite for me - "oooh you have a tiny bump! I was MASSIVE!"

Que weeks of worrying my baby wasn't growing properly (he is)

@ugaris I don't think people realise (care?) how much anxiety their words can create. I'm a midwife and I find it amazing that so many of my colleagues are commenting on my size!

@ugaris Yup! I got twins and people always look confused and say “you sure?” Like yeah I’m pretty sure there are two heartbeats every time I go in for an ultrasound…

@ugaris Same!!! Im 37 weeks tomorrow and all pregnancy long I've heard "you're so little" "you're bump is so small" "I can't believe how little it is compared to so and so who's a couple months behind you" like first, I'm tall, have big boobs, and have broad shoulders. Second...what's your point?! My baby was in the 83rd percentile when I went for my 20 week scan so she's definitely not little. At least when my bf goes "omg your belly is HUUUUGGGEEEE" I don't get mad about it now lmao it's become the validation I need at this point 😅 I just don't understand why people feel the need to comment on sizes. Like why not "oh your belly is so cute!" Why make it about size? It's made me feel like I'm doing something wrong sometimes

@ugaris Same here. 27 weeks pregnant and you can barely tell. I voiced my concerns to my NP yesterday and she measured me. She said I’m growing healthily but we can always do another US in a few weeks to check the growth if I don’t “pop” by then 🤣