Mother refuses to help keep my daughter on a sleep schedule

barney

I live at home and I also have a 10 month old daughter. I work full time as a nurse on second shift, so I get home pretty late. I usually get home from work around 1AM. With that being said, my mother takes care of my daughter while I’m at work. When I come home at night, my daughter is waking up from a “nap” right when I get home at 1AM. My daughter stays up for several hours after I get off of work, almost up until 7 o’clock in the morning. My mom lets her sleep all evening to where she’s wide awake when I get home. When I am off of work, my daughter sleeps earlier because I monitor her naps. She sleeps better and is usually sleep by at least 1AM. I am almost desperate to get my baby on a consistent healthy sleep schedule. My mother makes it difficult by not staying consistent and disregarding the schedule that I set for her. It almost like she’s purposefully choosing not to help me because it will make it easier for her to watch my baby because she’s sleeping.

Any advice on my situation would be helpful!

@barney Grandparent childcare is tricky. On one hand it’s free and you know baby is with someone who loves them. On the other hand it’s a grandparent. They don’t think they have to listen to you or follow any instructions or schedules. I would write down a set schedule and sit mom down to discuss it and why it’s important.

Try, “Mom, I really appreciate you and everything you’ve done for us. I love knowing baby is with her grandma when I’m working. But she needs to be on a schedule. It’s not healthy for her or me for her to be up all night. Can you follow this sleep schedule? Don’t answer right away. Think about it. Because it’s important enough that I’m going to have to make other childcare arrangements if you decide that you can’t.” Then if she says no or says yes but doesn’t try to follow the schedule I would find a paid caregiver who will.