I’m struggling to know - what’s worth swapping?

faithfulglow

I feel like the more I learn the more it feels like I should swap everything. I am really new to this stuff, but more and more convinced that all this junk is SO awful. I’ve only swapped personal care items so far (my deodorant, menstrual care, lotions/body wash for baby). I have been considering glass baby bottles, but realistically, we just can’t swap everything. What are the best things to prioritize swapping from a research standpoint? I’m pretty concerned about endocrine disruptors, so the whole microplastics thing is like eww to me, but there are just things I don’t think I can ever convince my husband of swapping (candles/fragrance, ditching dinnerware/baby plastics).

So until I can convince him of my crunchiness, what would you start swapping if you started somewhere? I’m feeling like personal care items makes the most sense (soaps, lotions, etc). But I’m game if there’s a better place to start.

@rmorgan79 Personally I apply this to plastic that contains a heated liquid or food that we are going to consume. I am not entirely sure about the effect of the dishwasher, but I am for myself working under the assumption that most micro plastics get released during heating and transferred then. So in the dishwasher the microplastics would get washed out. When containing hot foods or liquids they’ll get transferred into something we consume.

We have used glass baby bottles that we have heated in the microwave. We also still have plastic food storage containers since replacing them is not realistic for us right now. However we transfer the food into a pot or onto a plate before (re)heating the contents.

@rmorgan79 I think I read an article a while back about the temperature that the dishwasher reaches and whether that is problematic for heating plastic, but I can't remember what the conclusion was.