How to measure for pitcher method?

sopie0426

Hi! I’m new to formula feeding. I’ve been slowly decreasing BFing & pumping and supplementing with formula as needed. Im pretty much at the point where im tired of making bottles one at a time and I saw someone post about using the pitcher method.
Is it as simple as 1 scoop to 2 oz? So if I were to make a 30 oz pitcher I’d do 15 scoops?
I saw someone post about weighing instead?

I’m so excited to be joining this community after almost 8 months 😅
(Also any extra tips you think would be beneficial, please send my way! Thank you!)

@sopie0426 We use a kitchen scale. Tare the empty pitcher, then add water (1 ml = 1 gram), tare again. Then formula. The label usually has the number of grams per scoop.

We're doing a full day's worth at a time, so like 1000ml water and 200 grams formula (for our soecific mix). We basically pour the formula right out of the bag. Carefully at the end. But still so much easier.

We then fill and chill enough bottles for the next day so they're all ready to go right out of the fridge, and immediately prep the pitchers for re-use the next day.... for us this is a sanitizer/dryer.

@sopie0426 I have never weighed and my son was formula fed from the very beginning. I stopped using our dr.brown pitcher quite some time ago, but I just remember following the 1 scoop to every 2 oz. I would put the water in, and then count by 2 for each one scoop.

@tohimbetheglory Did you prefer just making bottles as needed? I’m doing the pitcher mainly for my mom who watches my baby while I’m at work and I want to make it as easy as possible - but maybe it’s not the easier way?