Forced to use disposables for a few weeks--WHY DOES ANYONE DO THIS?!

randomelement

You can all laugh at me. I'm literally reacting to disposables how everyone reacts to cloth. And yes, I see the irony.

Baby has had some recurring albeit minor contact rashes and after trying everything and it never fully resolving, but coming and going for a few months, we've decided to just put him in disposables for a week or two until it clears up while we do bleach soaks and cleans with his diapers to ensure there's nothing irritating his little bum.

Guys.. I have never used disposables before. I legit didn't know which way was forward. I have no idea how to tell if they fit. But most of all.. the SMELL! In cloth we can tell when he's pooped, but he constantly smells poopy in disposables, I don't know why! Is it because the plastic-y material works like a little balloon, capturing his farts and slowly releasing it throughout the day? Is he just constantly dutch ovening himself?

And our bathroom smells so. bad. We usually use an open-bucket in the bathroom with his dirty diapers that we wash every other day, but having to store disposables FILLED with poop?! It smells! So bad! My baby smells. My bathroom smells. His nursery smells. It all. Just. Smells.

And the expense, too! I got all my diapers for $160 total, buying second-hand older styles plus prefolds. But we've already spent $30 on disposables.

Anyway, looking forward to getting back to cloth in the next few days since his rash is almost completely gone (yay!). I just genuinely don't understand why cloth is seen as undesirable when I've had to do so much more cleaning to manage the smell alone from disposables. And I hate the idea of having just pounds upon pounds of poop just hanging out in garbage bags around my house and garage... Yuck.

UPDATE: Well... turns out I'm pregnant. Might be why the smell was bothering me so much! xD