Why is Everyone Sick all the Time?

7thunders

Hi ya'll! I first made this post here on the ECE Professionals subreddit, and someone in the comments mentioned people here might like to read it. I used to be an ECE teacher before leaving due to some health complications from immune issues. I’ve been learning a lot as I figure more out about my own health issues, and wanted to provide some info on the science behind why it seems like everyone is so much sicker than we used to be. I’ve also included some resources about what to do if you notice you’re having some immune issues yourself. I am new to the Science Based Parenting community, so please let me know if anything is breaking the rules or needs to be fixed. I’m also happy to provide sources to any claims with none linked.

As most people have noticed, childhood and adult illnesses have been way up since the start of the covid pandemic. Some people blame masks, saying that because our immune systems weren’t exposed to regular illnesses during masking they’re now making up for lost time, but we are two years out from widespread masking, and there is no solid evidence that after this long it would still be affecting our immunity. This “immunity debt” theory has been well debunked (info) (info). In actuality, the huge uptick we’re seeing in all kinds of illnesses is likely a sign of widespread immune damage due to covid.