What to read before birth and to the infant before they can watch pictures and follwo the story on the page?

tonyfran

Hi all newbie here,

I have some question regarding reading material in the minority language

I understand that even before birth and to very young infants, it can be beneficial to read in the target language. So my questions:
  1. what to read when the baby cannot follow on the page yet? (either because they are not born yet or because they are so tiny that they don't follow / watch what's on the page) - can I pick whatever book in that language? e.g. a slow read of Dickens or Hemingway?
  2. At what month/age does it make sense to start using children's books with images or just few words on the page? (pointing out the story on the pages for the baby to follow)
Maybe that sounds silly but I'm trying to figure out how to get organized when the time comes

@tonyfran