What To Do If Your Partner Starts to Hemorrhage at Home, Especially During Covid (aka "How To Save Your Wife")

pddan

TW: blood, lots of blood

Today was the scariest day of my life. 6 days post-op after a c-section (making me an r/predaddit grad a second time around!), my wife began to bleed heavily and pass these huge clots. Turns out it was postpartum hemorrhaging, and because of COVID I couldn't even be there in the ER with her. The whole time I wish I knew something, anything, about what I could expect. So I decided to write some things down in hopes of helping the next dad.

**Disclaimer: I'm not qualified to give medical advice. This is based purely on my own personal experience and I am not a medical professional**

Step 0: Have your support system lined up! If I didn't have someone to watch the newborn and toddler, this would have been an even more awful day.

Step 1: Call 911, don't drive her yourself. We were debating, and only decided on calling 911 because I was too nerve-wracked to drive. But I'm so glad I did! Because, at the time, she was bleeding a lot, and they had me lay her on her back and do a fundal massage (massage the uterus until it felt hard like a grapefruit). Though it was the most horrifying thing I've ever done (I'll never forget my wife's screams), it stopped the bleeding until the paramedics could come. Honestly, if we had driven she probably would have bled out on the way there because being in a seated position would have been the worst idea!