Turning 30, thinking about quitting law school after my first semester to start a family. Advice?

ladyghosthunter

We are so ready to start our family and we want 4-5 kids if possible.

However, I am in my first semester of law school and I wouldn’t want to get pregnant until after summer 2024 when I’ve finished 2 years of school and completed 2 summer externships. I would be okay getting pregnant the beginning of my 3rd year. But I would be 32 when we have our first.

Prior to law school work experience: political campaigns.

But at the same time, I don’t want to wait that long! I know in the grand scheme of things waiting 2 years may not be a huge deal and it gives me a J.D.

Fortunately my husband does well so we are good off his salary. But the only concern of mine is the feeling of not having a purpose outside of my kids. I feel like having my JD will be empowering whether I choose to practice as an attorney or just go the JD advantage route.

My mom was a doctor, but then spent 12 years as a SAHM, then went back to work. Her advice was that it’s important to have an identity outside of being a mom because your kids will form their own identities and it won’t be centered around you.

My MIL never worked and was SAHM. Her sons are both reaching 30 now and she’s 55. Her identity is solely focused around being a mom but it’s tough now because both her children are grown men with their own partners/family. She seems to be struggling and resorts to drinking heavily.

I know everyone is different, but from the women I personally know who have SAHM, they tend to struggle with purpose/identity later in life when the kids leave. This is what is holding me back from leaving law school and starting a family. But I can also see myself being super happy going this route if leaving school, starting a family and loving it for 10-13 years, but once everyone is a teen and in their own world, I could feel lost.

How are you planning for this?