New to NICU w/ 27 years weeker. Brady spells

meetz

Hi 👋 I’m new to the NICU world. Baby was born at 27w +2 due to preterm labor and pre-eclampsia. She’s been doing well overall and has been in NICU for 10 days now. She’s tolerating food ok, gaining weight, head scan is ok, heart rate is good, she has 1 IV line in her foot now where she gets fat emulsions. But She continues to have Brady spells. Less in count but she does have to get interventions at times when she is not coming out of them herself. Of course the alarms 🚨 and what not freak me the f out. Please tell me they get better. It scares me to see her respiratory rate and her oxygenation drop like that. She does receive caffeine daily to help as well. Im trying to be mindful that she’s barely been in the nicu for 10 days and have patience so I recognize that it’s itty bitty baby steps. Any advise that can help this anxious first time IVF and now NICU mama out regarding Brady spells or anything in general. Thank you 🙏

@meetz Hey! 27+1 weeker dad on day 63.

So first off, welcome to the worst club ever. I’m sorry you have to go through this.

Second, Brady’s and desats never get easier to tolerate but eventually they do get better as your baby grows and develops. You are right they are terrifying to watch but it is incredibly normal and are often triggered by feeds.

Here are some comments I made in another thread for advice.
  1. Establish a routine at the hospital. Come in for rounds, do care, hold of you can and then go home. You need to to take care of yourself especially with the trauma of this birth.
  2. PLEASE don’t sleep at the nicu. Unless they tell you your baby is clinging to life, don’t do it. You’ll see things you can’t ever unsee. You don’t need any more trauma.