Moving baby to crib after NICU

kckpriest

When did y’all move your baby to the crib? Our son was born 10 weeks early on February 29th. He spent 7.5 weeks in the NICU and has been home 8 weeks. So technically he is almost 4 months, but has an adjusted age of 6 weeks. He currently sleeps in our room in a bassinet, but naps during the day in his crib. He’s a great sleeper and does really well in his crib! I am a teacher and have been thinking about switching him to his room before I go back to school in August, but I am feeling unsure due to his age!

Also just to add that we used a travel crib in our room once our eldest (full term and big baby) outgrew his bassinet but was too young to be in his own room. We plan to do similar with our preemie but as he’s much smaller we have more time.

@kckpriest I moved my 27 weeker to his crib at 4 months adjusted! He was always a good sleeper, but I think we all slept even better after he moved. I kept a baby monitor on him for reassurance, and never looked back!

Edit: 6 weeks adjusted does seem early, but I’ve found with a baby monitor it’s not much different than being in the room with them.

@kckpriest I moved my son 2 days after he came home. He hated the bassinet, I could hear every sound and couldn’t sleep. I put him in there one night at 2am and he slept 5 hours. While I didn’t…. I did use it as a test to see how he handled the change. My eldest slept well alone in her room and so did he. Always go with what your pediatrician says and makes you comfortable. This is what worked for me and may or may not for you.

@kckpriest The guidance is to keep them in your room for up to a year to reduce risk of SIDS. That’s what we plan on doing. We will be going by adjusted age for this one

@kckpriest There’s nothing wrong with you moving him to your room. It is recommended to have the baby in your room until 6 months adj but there’s no inherent wrong in the baby being in their own, safe sleep space.