It’s hard for me to not feel resentful over my spouse working so much

foreverhis84

My husband works a lot. A lot, a lot. I used to be a teacher. He used to be Active Duty military and we moved constantly. My career could not keep up. He suggested I stay at home. When our eldest was a few months old, I became a SAHM. Earlier this year, he made the switch to Reserves and started a federal job on the same base. We have two kids now, 5 and 3. Our 5 year old is autistic and ADHD. He also has had some medical issues, one of which required a relatively emergent surgery in June. He’s starting Kindergarten next week. I’ve also had some medical problems as well. I needed a procedure performed under general anesthesia, but my husband couldn’t/wouldn’t take off work, and because of his job, we live hundreds of miles away from friends and family, so there’s no one to help. I had to cancel. I rescheduled for the end of this month, but surprise surprise, he’s not going to be around again. My husband is just never around, for anything. I feel like I am raising the kids myself and he just sometimes shows up. I do everything solo. Appointments, functions, OT for our son, every day to day errand. He’s gone most of August, thousands of miles away, so I get to navigate our special need’s child’s first month of school alone. Then he comes back for like a week, and leaves again for most of September. It’s just frustrating. And it’s hard for me to not feel resentful. There’s nothing really for me to do with the kids where we live. Yesterday the heat index was 118°F, and the town is small. “Getting out of the house” means going to Walmart. I’ve tried making friends, and I sorta/kinda made friends with a neighbor, but her child is significantly younger than mine and my kids are way too rough. I begged my husband to take a vacation this summer but he just kept saying it’s too expensive. Despite working all the time, he still doesn’t make enough because the cost of living where we live is as