Girlfriend telling my son he has an allergy when he doesn’t.

My son (11 y.o.) just told me his dads live in GF told him he’s allergic to gluten and that’s why he’s itchy sometimes (I’ve dealt with my sons medical issues since his birth and I’m also a nurse. He has seasonal allergies and asthma). He is not diagnosed with a gluten allergy.

This is slightly infuriating as I feel she is way overstepping her place. (I have full medical decision making) and she has no idea his medical history. His own father barely does as I was the only one to take them to doctors appointments even when we’re together.

He’s extremely difficult to even parallel parent with as he likes to play games (won’t tell me GFs last name or didn’t answer when I asked if she’s a medical professional).

I have corrected the situation with my son but I told ExH I do not want this happening in the future.

Who in their right mind tells someone else’s kid they’re allergic to something based on literally nothing?

@sergiomonterroso Okay I've got to be that person.

It's either gluten intolerant (meaning can be eaten moderately with minor side effects or must eat large quantities to trigger discomfort) or Celiac disease.

There is no such thing as a simple gluten allergy. Last person I had tell me they have a gluten allergy, was mad when their salad didn't have croutons. Assume when you hear just gluten allergy, they are highly uneducated on the concept and are playing with buzzwords and new age health bullshit.

@add151763 😬 well your kiddo likely then gets denied many yummy treats needlessly.. although it probably is just easier for her to say all gluten products because it would naturally eliminate any wheat exposure.

Gluten is a protein in wheat but a wheat allergy usually implies a broader protein reaction base, not just gluten. And often a wheat allergy positive comes with a non reaction to gluten.