Forget OPOL, how about OToDOL?

ofelixculpa

I teach English in Budapest, Hungary. In the mornings, I'm in a public kindergarten with 3-4 year olds. We recently had parent-teacher meetings and reported to the parents on students' English progress since the start of the year. Some of these kids have a native English-speaking parent at home; some have parents who speak a bit for work or whatever, and others don't get any English exposure outside of school. Obviously, the kids with the native English parent are the highest level; kids who have one parent who speaks English at home are really all across the board, depending on if the language actually gets used or not at home; and the kids who get no English outside of the program are the absolute beginners.

One of my best speakers is a little 4-year-old who we'll call Mark. Mark speaks English with virtually no accent—actually, that's not entirely true: he has a teensy bit of a U.S. southern twang. I didn't really know much about his family before meeting his mom, and when she came in I realized she herself is Hungarian and speaks English quite well, albeit with a Hungarian accent. So I asked her the story: who's the native speaker in the family? (I am genuinely curious to hear these success stories since I am raising a bilingual child myself, and we're constanty warned that the challenge will be getting her to keep up her English)