24W - Feeling SO Defeated with Decline in Running. Tips?

jsykes

Hello Everyone! I am 24 weeks and having the hardest time with running. I ran regularly before. It started with my pace being way down. Now its pain in my lower abdomen (round ligament, I suspect) and feet, and tightness in my calves. I'd say the abdomen pain is worst.

I am wearing compression socks, got the FitSplint maternity belt, high wasited running shorts for extra support, and am trying to avoid heat as best as possible (a feat in D.C.!)

It is just running that does this to me. I am actually a fitness instructor at an indoor rowing studio (think SoulCycle-esque but rowing machine instead of a bike) and get through my classes just fine- talking the whole time while I am doing the class.

My last two runs I couldn't even/barely made two miles at 12:00/mi pace--more than three minutes over my usual for a much longer run. Whatttt?? Earlier in my pregnancy I signed up for the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler (9/12) and now am having doubts. I feel so defeated. I kept telling myself I'd "get used to it" and "adjust". Instead, it continues to decline.

Anyone have tips? Go through similar? What did you guys do/what are you doing for cardio?