Taking on my girlfriend’s kids

katiefutty1

My gf is the one. So I’ve had to accept that she will come with her two kids which are extension of her so I’ll learn to love them etc etc.

However it’s SO stressful. They are 2 and 5 respectively. I’ve no experience with kids prior to this so I’m really in the deep end. When we go for a kind of ‘family outing’ I’m not enjoying myself at all and they’re so demanding and selfish (which I understand kids are), but it’s hard to look past it when they’re not my own children. If they were they would be my responsibility, I would also be able to apply some discipline, and also I’d love them to death if they were my own flesh and blood. I try to help out as much as I can with them and I will keep doing so. We don’t live with eachother but I try to kind of avoid weekends where they are going to be present if I can. (Which is every weekend). Moving forward, can anyone please offer me some mindset advice or a couple of tips?

@katiefutty1 Most of the issues that are bugging you about the 2 & 5 year old are likely developmental. Which means they will outgrow them simply by getting older. They don't need "discipline" applied to them. We've learned more about child development than when you were a kid.

You need to apply discipline to yourself. Set an example of good behavior for them. Stay calm yourself. Be patient yourself. Be gentle yourself. Be generous yourself. Your example will show them what to strive for as they grow. Make sure they're well fed and well rested - so that means being aware of how tired they are and when they last ate/drank because you're the adult.