I need a safe place to vent regarding the decision to be OAD and my Dr not supporting me fully

vash07

I'm a postpartum nurse, I sometimes float to pediatrics, the nursery, and l&d if they're very short staffed.

I have seen so much of the good, bad and ugly of childbirth, postpartum care, and the life of children on a pedi floor.

I chose to have my son on my own as a solo parent. Y'all, it's hard some days. We're hitting toddlerhood and it's a challenge for both of us some days.

I had a traumatic pregnancy and am grateful my son and I have made it out alive. That said, I never want to be pregnant again. I absolutely would love more babies but I have full blown nightmares and anxiety thinking about being pregnant again.

I've worked with a counselor to talk through my grief of not having another baby, of not having a perfect pregnancy. We're good. I'm good.

So when I met with my obgyn today to talk about a tubal ligation, she threw a whole list of bullshit reasons I should consider. They include:

Me meeting the right partner; me regretting my choice; me making a rash decision.

I ultimately told her if she wasn't willing to consult with me I'd let my insurance know not to pay for this visit and I'd find another provider who would. She relented and said okay fine. (I'm finding another provider).

But god damn I'm working through the idea that I'll never have another child of my own and carry that pregnancy and you want to gatekeep my fallopian tubes? I'm 36, I don't want to be a geriatric high risk pregnancy. I'm not worried about meeting a man and him wanting his own babies. Let me protect my own physical and mental health and cut my damn tubes. Ffs!

@raymondven Exactly. I also just don't want to date. Maybe in a year I'll feel differently. Maybe 5 years. Maybe never? Either way, just as you said, they're not the right person if they want more kids.