COVID-19 and Why I'm Waiting

ajay24

I’ve seen a ton of different posts and discussions about COVID-19 lately, so I thought it would be interesting to create a thread that includes my reasons to wait. I’m a microbiology professor and have been a science educator for years, so this stuff is my bread and butter. Now, I personally have chosen to wait, but I am taking the Emily Oster approach here: thinking about the data and presenting my case. You have different life circumstances, are a different age, and overall a different risk profile compared to me, so take this information and do what you will:
  1. Pregnant women who have COVID-19 are more likely to be hospitalized.
From: https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/69/wr/mm6925a1.htm

After adjusting for age, presence of underlying medical conditions, and race/ethnicity, pregnant women were significantly more likely to be admitted to the intensive care unit and receive mechanical ventilation. There was no difference in death rates (which may suggest that women who are pregnant are more likely to be admitted to the ICU for reasons relating to their pregnancy rather than their COVID status.)

The total number of women who did need a ventilator was small, though, but the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists is now recommending counseling patients on this risk, see also: https://www.acog.org/clinical/clini...isory/articles/2020/03/novel-coronavirus-2019

2) There is a startling number of stillbirths happening.

In one study from St. George’s University Hospital, researchers found a significant increase in number of stillbirths. There is no evidence that any of the mothers had COVID-19 and none tested positive. This is probably evidence that there is a reduction in medical intervention that prevents stillbirths- moms are more hesitant to go to the hospital if they don’t feel movement, etc.