16 months post partum- no progress

pourpreh

I’m 16 months P.P in March and I’m still exclusively breastfeeding. My LO doesn’t drink cows milk at all yet.

Anyways I felt like I gained a significant amount of weight, about 15 lbs after giving birth.

I’ve been working with a nutritionist and trainer for about 5 months being super consistent with my diet and working out about 5 times a week, doing light activity every day making sure I hit 10,000+ steps.

My sleep is shit - I probably get a full night of sleep (6-7hrs) 2-3 nights a week. My anxiety around returning to work is probably at a 7 or 8 / 10 so I mean not everything is ideal but I would have thought after 5 months I should have seen SOMETHING for progress. I haven’t lost weight on the scale and I haven’t lost inches either.

Super frustrated, not sure what to change to start seeing results. I lost a good 60 lbs in my mid 20s so I have an idea of how to approach my weight loss. I’m now in my mid30s and I feel like my body is just so different.

I fired the trainer and nutritionist and am just relaxing for the last month. I need a break from logging and tracking everything that I do.

I feel like I could have seen so much progress in the last 5 months and just feel like they’ve been wasted. Don’t know where to start now.

@pourpreh My body ballooned when breastfeeding with both my kids. The only thing that allowed me to get weight off was weaning. It surprised me with my first, but I accepted it when I nursed my second. I was forced to wean after 4 months due to his milk protein allergy, and the weight started to come off with some pretty simple changes.

I know it’s a bummer, and I also know how hard it is, but the unfortunate reality is that you have a choice. You can choose to wean and get your body back, or you can continue to breastfeed knowing that eventually the journey will end and you can work on your goals at that time. No shame in either choice! It’s about what works for you and your LO.