What happens to poor sleepers who aren’t sleep trained?

ebveloz

I’m curious what happens to infants with parent-led sleep associations (I.e. need support falling asleep after each sleep cycle) who are not sleep trained. However, I’m not looking for the pros and cons of sleep training :) I can find lots of info on that online but having trouble finding out more about my more specific question. Thanks!

ETA: I’m curious about the downvotes? Is it because by nature, the answers to my question are anecdotal, not scientific? I strive to take a science led approach to parenting (alas I’m a right brained artist which is why I love learning from this community!) but have found sleep related topics to be quite divisive topic. My own understanding of the research based aspect of infant sleep and sleep training comes from Medina’s Brain Rules for Baby. I’m coming to this topic with an open mind and see the benefits of both sleep training and not sleep training.

@ebveloz There have been a few studies that have shown that any impact achieved for sleep trained infants and toddlers compared to non sleep trained disappears by age 2.

https://www.researchgate.net/public...al_Infant_Sleep_Intervention_Randomized_Trial

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23516146/

The discontented baby book goes into the current research in good depth (advocating against traditional sleep training methods). This write up also provides a good summary of the existing sleep training origins and research including pros and cons: https://www.bbc.com/future/article/20220322-how-sleep-training-affects-babies

@ebveloz I think there needs to be some differentiation between poor sleepers and frequent wakers.