Take the new job and sacrifice maternity leave or NOT? HELP!

sethproton

Hi everyone,

I really need some advice on my current situation. I am about 11 weeks pregnant. I am currently a teacher and struggling. So, over winter break I started applying for a new jobs. I got an offer from a company and I think it could be an amazing opportunity in the long run.

However, during this process I learned you need to be employed at a company for 1 year before you can take maternity leave without jeopardizing job security. This means that if I take this new job I might only get the 6 week of disability after giving birth or 8 weeks for a c section-no more (unless they are very kind and work with me, which I have no idea about).

I am frustrated with my current work situation but if I stay I can take about 5 months of maternity leave (only 1 month paid 60%) with job security and 6 weeks before (summer). We can make this work financially but it will be tight.

My question to all of you: Is it worth sacrificing a good job opportunity for a longer maternity leave? I know I will never get that time with my baby back. Finding child care so fast could be hard and expensive, but I would be making more money.

I need to let HR for the new job know tomorrow! I am considering calling in and just being upfront and asking if I will loose job security for taking an addition 8 weeks of maternity leave that way I can make the most informed decision, although this is risky!

I appreciate you all in advance.

@sethproton I had a similar issue and ended up (after the initial job offer) saying I would love to accept, but wanted them to know in advance that I was pregnant and would be needing maternity, and wanted 12 weeks. To be clear, I was ok doing it unpaid bc I knew I didn’t qualify for legit maternity, so I’m sure that helped my case lol, and we saved extra to cover us in advance for when I did end up taking the job.