Preparing for the pitcher method as a FTM

sarnmere

Hello! This is my first time posting, but I've been lurking throughout my pregnancy. I plan on EFF from the start, and my LO is due at the end of the month. I'm trying to prepare myself mentally for what sort of feeding routine I'll need once he's here. I'd like to use the pitcher method. When I originally asked about the pitcher method in another sub, I was met with a lot "why is that necessary" and "seems like an extra step," so I've been feeling better seeing more and more people talking about it over here. 🙂 I don't want to have to fully prepare a bottle for each feed unless I've run out of prepared bottles already.

Here is what I'm envisioning, but please help me fill in the blanks or eliminate possible extra steps:
  1. Wash bottles
  2. Place bottles in sterilizer/dryer (I just purchased this one)
  3. Prepare a day's worth of formula in a pitcher
  4. Pour out formula in individual bottles with correct measurement for single feeding*
  5. Place prepared bottles in refrigerator for the day/night
  6. Place bottle in warmer before single feeding
  7. If LO doesn't finish full bottle within one hour of refrigerator removal, dispose of remaining formula
  8. Repeat each day
* For #4, I think this is the part where I'm wondering if this should be changed. Do I measure out individual bottles ahead of time? I like the idea of just grabbing a bottle quickly from the fridge so there's less waiting time for LO. Or do I keep the formula in the pitcher and only pour into a bottle when it's time for that feed?

I'll probably also have RTF options on hand for either to-go options or "mom brain" moments.

Other questions:
  • Should I even bother with a bottle warmer? It was gifted to me at my baby shower, and I'd hate for it to go to waste. I like the idea of being able to just feed him cold bottles, though, so we never have the inconvenience of needing to warm a bottle when we're not home.