Pack n play vs Crib?

ryan14

Me and my wife are going to use a (Graco) Pack n Play for the first 6 months of our daughters life and then move on to a crib. Anyone here do the same thing or have gone through the same process and ended up cribbing the whole way through?

@ryan14 We did Pack N Play in our bedroom for the first six months and then moved our son into his crib and it worked well for us. I think you have a solid plan.

@ryan14 That's a solid plan but just be fluid if you find something that works better. I graduated 6 weeks ago and had the same plan as you but just this last week we moved our son into the nursery and one of us sleeps in there with him (we switch off when he wakes up to eat around 3 a.m. Sleeping with both of us in the room meant we both were missing out on sleep so by taking turns we can get a solid 4-5 hours sleep without watching the baby. Also, my son sleeps better in his crib as the mattress is more comfortable I imagine.

@ryan14 We're doing the same thing, too. Baby's going to sleep in our room for a few months, then we'll just put the pack and play in the Baby's room. Honestly, we're doing it party due to space constraints. Most of our friends in smaller urban apartments (Chicago) have done the same thing and say it works well for the first 6-9 months, depending on the kid.

Worst case is that cribs are plentiful and can be bought quickly if we end up needing one. That's kind of been our philosophy on a bunch of stuff.

Edit: I've heard some folks say their kinds loved sleeping in them and others that hated them. So, I'll add that we're also going this route to try it and see how it works before investing too much in a crib right away.

Cheers!

@ryan14 We’ve cribbed the whole way. We found it easier at night for night time changings to have everything at our disposal. I, selfishly, also don’t want to get her in a habit of sleeping with us.