My best advice from the other side

cisty

I posted in the daily grad chat while back whether anyone was interested in "the biggest things that were helpful to me during my 4+ year wait and what I'm really glad I did before having a kid." This is that post! (Mods, hope this is okay!)

CW: I am a sub grad and a mom to an almost 5 month old.

So here we go!
  1. HANDS DOWN my number 1: I'm glad I really, REALLY considered who I was having kids with. If your partner does not genuinely take on their equal share of household duties, actively make your life easier, support you emotionally, stand by your side through their own stress and yours, solve conflicts in a healthy manner — they are certainly not going to start during one of the most stressful transitions of life. I actually do not know what I would've done without my husband throughout pregnancy, childbirth, and now into parenting. Obviously, there are also single parents and that its own journey that I don't have experience with, but if you're planning on coparenting or having kids with a partner, this is the single most important decision of your life.
  2. I'm so glad I spent my WTT period building mental resilience and patience. So much of parenthood is out of your control. You cannot control when you get pregnant, the health of the pregnancy, how sick you'll be, how your birth goes, whether your baby eats or sleeps how you want, the personality of your kid, etc. There are things you can do to influence, but control? Absolutely not. Practice non-attachment and gratitude. Work through your negative thoughts. Learn to let things go. Accept that the journey will take you where it will. You can and will do tough things! (I can go into more detail on what this looked like for me, but this post is already long).