Just want help in making a decision about OAD

chadgervais

My husband and I before we got married, spoke about having 2 kids. I wanted 2 till I had one. My son is 22 months old. I had a traumatic birth experience - where I had to go for an emergency last minute C section. My pregnancy was meh. TBH I wasn’t even dead set on having the first one but went with it anyway and thought let’s just try.
The exact month I wanted to stop trying, we got pregnant. Im a freelancer and I did not have anything figured out in my career. The last 2 years have been nothing short of a roller coaster, I’ve been taking therapy and Im much better now. I don’t have any diagnosed disorders but just want to say that my mental health has been all over the place.
Day care / Nanny did not work out for us for a whole list of reasons and now my son goes to playschool. I finally have some time for myself to work on my career and am seeing facets of my old self slowly returning. I feel so selfish to think this way but I don’t think I want another child.
I have a sibling and we share such a special bond. My H is an only child and has always wanted a sibling. It’s just so exhausting to think about doing this all over again. And the sheer burn out! Also the planning and mental fatigue of having another child seems so overwhelming and not worth it at all.
I’ve been facing pressure from family members with their stupid comments and now, with my H wanting another / I feel like I’m cheating him or something because I changed my mind. He’s the sweetest and understanding and doesn’t put pressure but I feel so guilty of denying something that he’s always wanted.
How did you guys make the decision to be OAD ? Did you partners agree, how did you get them to understand?

@chadgervais Sounds like you need to have a serious down to earth conversation with your spouse.

Outline your feelings and the stress you have been under. Maybe work with a therapist independently to see where you stand.