I wrote a children’s book to explain viruses to kids…. so you don’t have to

kowalskil

Hi all! I have a graduate degree in bioengineering, work in STEM, and doodle for fun. As the COVID-19 pandemic hit, I felt there was a ton of information being thrown at us all at once (and of it some misinformation). There was also a big gap of materials catered to kids that explains it in a simple, easy way. Sooo…. in my spare time, I wrote a children's picture book that explains Viruses and COVID-19 Pandemic (so you don't have to!).

I put up a digital copy for FREE here.

If you want, you can also buy a hard copy here.

Any support is very much appreciated! This is a part of a series where I try to explain more advanced STEM concepts to kids. I also wrote a book about CRSPR here.

TLDR; created a ELI5 picture book to explain viruses

@kowalskil Hi. First off, I personally love this, it's well drawn, and informative... But it's also scary, kids in hospitals, the words "deadly" etc. Ofc it's important that kids take it seriously and practise good hygiene but it makes me doubt it will help those in my moms group.

They have 3 year olds with bad anxiety, germaphobic and panicking to adjust their masks when joggers get too close, asking their parents if the parents/grandparents are going to heaven, being sad and moody, attacking siblings... The little ones just can't understand it and it's hard to know if the answer is to give ALL the information (which is hard because we dont know ourselves yet, timeline of vaccine etc) or try to give good advice while doing our best to be reassuring.

On balance I think a kids book needs to be informative AND reassuring, or maybe this ones for 7+ or something. Apologies for the ramble and the criticism, I'm sure others will disagree, just my two cents. I think a lot of adults would benefit from the book as it's very well out together.