Hypertension that’s NOT pre-e

kimotaku

Does anyone have experience with this? I had an appointment this morning at 23+2 (twins) and my bp was 150/80, with no protein found in my urine at all. I am having feet and ankle swelling, but no other symptoms, and both babies are growing on track and doing great. My OB didn’t seem extremely concerned about it today, but did give me a prescription for labetalol 100mg twice a day and told me to take it if I felt like I needed it (I’m a pharmacist so he trusts me to look into it and take it if I want to/feel like I need to). I really kind of talked him into sending the prescription in, just because I would feel better having it available. I didn’t have high blood pressure before pregnancy, but my whole family is on bp meds and so it’s not surprising, especially with the weight gain I’ve experienced so far. Any advice or thoughts? Thank you!!

@kimotaku I had hypertension before pregnancy so I'm using regular medication. 50mg nicardipine morning and 50mg nicardipine in the evening. I have an appointment tomorrow and he asked me to take my readings 3 days prior to the appointment. I had some high readings and some normal. I can update what he says tomorrow. But so far non pre-e hypertension has been pretty managable.

@kimotaku I’ve had hypertension my whole pregnancy, I am starting to think I had it before maybe. I’m on nifedipine 90mg (started at 30mg around 14 weeks) and am now 28+2. I’m also taking baby aspirin. Don’t really have a lot of advice just wanting to let you know I understand! It can be scary sometimes.