Hopefully some inspiration (TW: results not typical)

blessed2berosie

Hi all! I’m now 4 weeks postpartum and wanted to share something I could’ve used when I was pregnant. That said, this post will not be everyone’s cup of tea, so skip the pics if you think happy results photos will make you feel bad—that is NOT the intention.

Like many of you, while I cared about a healthy baby most, I was a little stressed out over what my body would look like after pregnancy. I knew most likely I would have stretch marks and it would take me a long time to lose the pregnancy weight...and then that didn’t happen. Here are pics at 39 weeks and 1 week postpartum:

The internet is full of “snap-back” photos of Instagram models and other celebrities. I’m just a college professor and FTM, and an older one (38) at that. Here is what I did:

1) Gained right in the middle of the recommended weight range. I did this by:

A) Listening to my body and eating when hungry. The only nutrient I tracked was protein, since I’m a vegetarian. I indulged some cravings now and then (yes to ice cream!), but I didn’t keep it at the house. I had to want it bad enough to go get it (avoided asking my overworked husband to go on junk food runs, too).

B) Doing some kind of activity 6-7 days/week. In the early 1st trimester and late 3rd trimester, this just meant walking. In the middle it was often a YouTube video—Pilates, barre, kickboxing, light weights. I like Popsugar Fitness and Fit by Larie.

2) I saw a pelvic floor physical therapist BEFORE birth to strengthen my transverse abdominal muscles. Did those exercises maybe 3 days/week from mid-2nd-tri on.

3) I used almond oil on my midsection twice a day. Stretch marks are largely genetic, and I have some on my hips from teenage weight gain. Assumed I’d get them in pregnancy too, but I didn’t, so I think the oil helped (recommended by my dermatologist).

4) I am exclusively breastfeeding.