Has anyone been a SAHM during the day while husband is at work and then gone to work in the evenings? How did it work out for you?

lesbian5eva

We’re expecting our first child in January. My husband is a PhD student and I’m a therapist with total autonomy of my schedule. We’re considering an arrangement (after maternity leave, planning to take 3 months off) where I stay home with the baby until 5ish then see clients from 6-9pm. So 3 clients a day, 4-5 days a week via telehealth from my home office. I’m wondering if anyone has done anything similar and how it worked out for them. It feels overwhelming, mainly because I find myself most productive in the late mornings so this would be a pretty big lifestyle shift, but perhaps better than paying for daycare. I also would prefer to be a full time SAHM but my husband took a huge pay cut until May 2025 to do this PhD. We may revisit the conversation afterwards depending on his post PhD salary. So… thoughts? Are we totally insane? Does this seem doable?

@lesbian5eva I did in the past but briefly...biggest thing is sleep. You HAVE to come up with a fair arrangement. Just because your husband is going for a PHD doesn't mean you take on all night duty.l, even when breastfeeding. Becoming a parent is hard but you're both parents so split that in a way that makes sense for each of you. Housework is second for a while but also, the responsibility of both. Taking care of a newborn is work too. Both parents need sleep, preferably at least 4 hours each, uninterrupted.

It is absolutely doable though! Just wish we had villages these days

@lineman2015 Exactly this. I think so many women, and people generally, consider working from home or working part time being a SAHM. You would be a working mom, not a SAHM. I WFH and so often hear how lucky I am to be home with the kids, but I work the whole time? It’s hard to juggle everything.