Had a little scare

kristensss

Wife thought she was seeing signs of miscarriage yesterday at 7 weeks. Called advice nurse and she recommended going into ER. Luckily everything was good! Ultrasound was normal, saw a heartbeat and blood and urine came back with great hormone levels. It was 5 hours in the ER but worth it to know everything is fine! Her symptom she was nervous about was spotting w/ a little achiness. Posting this because y’all have encouraged me before and I hope this will encourage at least one dad out there who is going thru something similar!

@kristensss We had a similar thing. It’s really scary and you just feel powerless. Thankfully the ultrasound came back good. I was a ball of nervous energy till that nurse told me we were going to be fine.

@kristensss It’s terrifying isn’t it! We knew we had a higher risk so we’re extra vigilant. We ended up going in a few times for emergency checks but it all went well and I graduated a few weeks ago!

@kristensss I have made a total of 32 trips to the ER during my wife's incredibly difficult pregnancy. She had 5 miscarriages before and this was our last chance basically.

Every single time something seemed a little off we went to the hospital. And every time it turned out to be a REALLY good idea we went.
  1. She had a light yeast infection that seemed like nothing. Still went to the doctor, turned out to be full on pregnancy diabetes.
  2. Slight discomfort and spotting. Turns out she was having a weakened cervix that needed to be surgically stitched closed to keep the baby in.
  3. Belly ache *this happened 5 times. Turned out to be contractions. They gave her contraction stoppers, just in time. 10 minutes later and we would have lost the baby.
I don't wat to scare you, just know that you will never have to feel guilty for going to the ER, even if it seems there are no problems at all. I am also not a doctor so I tend to read all the signals wrong. Just go.