Growth scan ultrasound - 36 weeks measuring small

@fictitiousdinosaur I’m not sure if anyone has said it yet - but some people just have small babies! My daughter was born full term (40 weeks on the dot) and came out at 6 lb 3 oz. My current baby is measuring on the small side as well. If your doctor isn’t concerned, try not to make yourself too upset.

Also wanted to note what many others have - the scans are not super accurate! All of mine come with the disclaimer that they could be off in either direction by two weeks gestational age!

@fictitiousdinosaur Those scans can be really inaccurate! They told me my baby was going to be gigantic (think like high 90s for percentile), they actually wanted to induce me early because of it. When he was born, he was totally average size (came on his own, not induced early).

@fictitiousdinosaur 12% is still considered normal! 10% to 90% is normal range. I’m a high risk OB nurse and we see a lot of women with small babies and more often than not they’re just normal healthy babies that happen to be petite. If your baby does go below 10% they’ll most likely want to monitor you more often, usually an ultrasound and NST once a week until delivery. My doctors don’t even talk about early induction unless baby is less than 3%.

@fictitiousdinosaur That I can’t really speak to since I’m not a provider. Sometimes discrepancies like that don’t really mean anything, sometimes babies just have shorter legs and smaller heads than average for example. My daughter’s AC was small for a while and it didn’t end up meaning anything. But I think you should definitely talk with your doctor about it to see if anything looks concerning to them!