Both of us work, but we have no after school childcare. How do you guys do it?

amyers3

Greetings daddits,

New to the sub. I doubt this question has a satisfying answer, but if nothing else I'm curious on how others are dealing with it:

My wife and I both work "full time". I have that in quotes b/c though my wife actually works full time as a teacher, I only sort of work full time. I have a flexible job where I can set my own schedule and do a lot of stuff remotely.

We have 3 kids: 7, 5, and 1.5. We can only afford childcare for the toddler (full time while my wife works) and a bit for the kinder (paying way too much to make the bs half-day kinder last the full school day). The 2nd grader has no childcare.

Here's my schedule:

6-7: Wake, get ready, make breakfast for the family. Wife gets baby ready for the day.

7-7:30: Breakfast

7:30-8: Get kids ready for school. Wife takes toddler on her commute at 8 and drops her at daycare on the way

8-8:30: School drop-off for the big kids. Try and head straight to work after.

8:45-2: Work

2-2:40: Pack up, pick up big kids, come home.

2:40 - 4: Snack up big kids, oldest showers, clean up kitchen and do some light dinner prep. Hang out with big kids during any amount of downtime in this block.

4 - 5: Wife arrives home with toddler. Watch toddler while big kids have screen time. Wife exercises and showers. Make dinner during this time on Wednesdays so there's leftovers to get us to the weekend.

5-5:30: Dinner prep/set table (reheat leftovers or finish making new meal). Toddler gets screentime, oldest practices piano, middle child bathes.

5:30-6: Dinner

6-7:30 - Clean up kitchen, wife bathes toddler, read to big kids/have them practice reading. One parent watches toddler while big kids read.

7:30-8:30 - Wife and I rotate through tucking in all 3 kids.

8:30-9:30 - 1 hour of downtime sometimes sacrificed to get extra work done. Either do some quick gaming or hang out with my wife so we're more than just roommates.