All Things Rashy

brnicholas

I’m a resident physician in primary care, and I have a great relationship with our pediatrician so not looking for medical rashy advice, more just experienced Mommy input and CD advice - I’m a newbie to CD. :)

My LO is 5wks and we are dealing with a really stubborn diaper rash. It’s been as bad as having a few open sores. The sores are healing but now she has major rash butt again. This has been going on for a few weeks at this point. Contact and Yeast dermatitis. I have a call in with our Ped about some Rx antifungal cream as nothing is working.

Other background: LO is a seriously heavy wetter AND she poops ALL the time. A lot. We change diapers constantly it seems, and of course as soon as we change her she immediately goes again. Overnight she goes 2-5hrs between feeds/changes. 5hrs is uncommon, 3hrs is more her usual.

We were using Osocozy prefolds and one Alva NB Pocket. Contact rash started. We added fleece liners - she soaks them; rash persisted. We added diaper cream and liners - no improvement, then her rash worsened. She then developed the open sores. We have now been using disposables for over a week and no real improvement. Her sores were healing well and I thought we were getting better, then the yeast rash flared back up BIG time.

We have tried 3 diaper creams (Bordeaux Butt Paste Red tube, and green tube, and Honest Co diaper cream), Vaseline, and today switched to Lanolin. We have tried Pampers disposables (HORRIBLE), some spendy natural ones (maybe Honest Co? Can’t remember atm), and Huggies. We have also tried 3 brands of sensitive skin disposable wipes, and cloth wipes (just water). Frequent changes, baths, daily airing out.... Nothing helps.

At this point since we aren’t getting better and we are going through disposables like mad, I REALLY want to go back to cloth. But I don’t know what the best protocol is with cloth and rashes...