Wondering who else has dealt with high acid levels?

kayvin

My daughter was born last Tuesday 5/30. She was born at 33 weeks and 3 days but came out very tiny for her age — 2lbs 6oz. Doctor’s primary concern is the high acid levels in blood. Current pH level is 7.43. The doctor believe it’s most either due to an infection, for which she’s on two antibiotics; ductus (blood vessel opening near the hear [I believe]); or a combination of the two. The doctor is more concerned about the infection. I try not to google stuff since I am not a doctor but couldn’t help myself. I’m sure many of you can relate. I’m obviously terrified and traumatized through this whole ordeal as a new father. I just discovered this wonderful community yesterday. She was breathing fine on her own at first. Then she went to the pressure machine in her nose. Now she’s intubated with a breathing tube. I break down hysterical crying multiple times per day. I was more upset about the breathing until I learned that the acid in blood/likelihood of infection is what’s most concerning and I’m absolutely terrified.

@kayvin So, a blood ph of 7.43 doesn’t represent an acidosis. I think there might be some misunderstandings and miscommunication, so you should ask your daughter’s care team. If you don’t understand the doctor, talk to the RN’s and RT’s; sometimes they can interpret the medical jargon a bit better. Good luck! If she did have an acidosis, it appears that the interventions your team has in place are doing a good job of correcting the issue.

@kayvin A low ph indicates acidosis, high ph is alkalosis. Typically, a “normal range” is 7.35-7.45, but neonates tend to run a bit on the acidic side, anyways, so down to 7.25 is usually ok. There are other values reflected on a blood gas, so ph level only tells a part of the story.