Raising bilingual baby when second language isn’t native to either parent

dday

Hey there, I’m a former Spanish teacher/professor and I’ve just had my first child. I taught Spanish for about 10 years to every age from pre-k to college. I’m not a native speaker; didn’t learn until I was in high school. I switched careers about 5 years ago and now I rarely have opportunities to speak Spanish. I want to teach my baby but it’s just not natural for me to speak it at home. My husband only knows a handful of vocabulary but is an eager learner. I basically spend our playtime pointing at everything around us and saying it in both languages every time. Any tips, advice, resources?

@dday I’m also a non-native speaker who worked professionally in Spanish (speech language pathologist). It was so awkward and hard to use Spanish with my baby once she was born (you can look in my post history to find my post in this sub about it), and I almost gave up. It was not natural at all - it was legitimately hard for me.

I ended up telling myself to stick with it from when my daughter was 6 months to 1 year and reevaluate at that point. By a year she was using words in Spanish and responding to me and taking more in, and the process became so much easier after that. My daughter is 2.5 years old now and is a Spanish speaker.

It’s hard and it can really hurt your brain, but in my experience it gets easier if you stick with it. There are lots of other ways for your child to learn Spanish if you want to use those in addition or in place of you using it at home, but I think you’re set up really well to teach her at home. She’s just the youngest student you’ve had so far :)

@jrbuckley I totally want to pick your brain @speechpather and yours, too, @wifefoundmyaccount. These replies hit way too close to home.