Questions and thoughts from a daycare teacher

mica_

So, I am a childcare teacher living in/from Australia. First off I want to say I think it’s awesome to be raising kids multilingual and honestly I sometimes wish either of my parents knew a second language to pass to me now that I have an interest in linguistics and languages as an adult.

At the centre I work at, we have many families who speak more than one language at home(English+something else). In the age group I work in(0-2) we’ve got two families who speak German at home, two speak Italian and one speaks Russian at home. I am currently actively learning German but I also try and throw in whatever words I know or are easy to learn in the other languages to try and support the bi/multilingual kids learning their home language(specifically saying the words to the kids in question) as well as playing songs in other languages to all the kids.

Is this a positive thing that I’m doing and are there other or better ways to reinforce these languages? Could using the wrong word or bad grammar be bad for their language learning? What would you think as a parent if a daycare teacher at a monolingual daycare was attempting to reinforce a second language?

@mica_ Another Aussie multilingual parent chiming in: my eldest managed to maintain and develop her community language at daycare to an amazing level because … there was one other kid in the daycare who spoke it and became her best friend. So another massive thing you can do is to not discourage the two German and two Italian kids from playing amongst themselves, yes, sometimes seemingly excluding other English or other speaking kids… it somehow still works out 🤷‍♀️🤷‍♀️🤷‍♀️