Nutritional Analysis of 13 Prenatals

fruitb

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1hBGgc0P_XZJbEhNhReIhgBGy3HsMYrh2QevdWIrYldE/edit?usp=sharing

I'm a crazy scientist and was having a hard time deciding which prenatal to start taking in prep for TTC in February. I compared 13 different prenatals that are available in the U.S. and which I saw recommended either here or on BabyBump. Here's the spreadsheet I put together complete with links to the sources I used to determine required nutrients.

In my research, I realized that the main things I personally wanted in a prenatal were:
  1. ~600 mcg 5-MTHF form folate
  2. 30+ mcg biotin
  3. No iron (to reduce risk of GI side effects)
  4. 250 mg magnesium in the form magnesium citrate or Aquamin (to reduce risk of GI side effects)
  5. 600+ IU Vitamin D3
  6. ~500mg calcium
  7. 300+ mg choline
I landed on Mommy's Bliss Prenatal + Probiotic, which is available at Target, and a fish oil pill I'm already taking. Once I get pregnant, I'll add in additional calcium.

Hope this is helpful to others!

EDIT: If you'd like to add info from other prenatals PM me and I'll give you an editing link :)

EDIT 2: FYI, the recommended values are for pregnant women over age 19.

EDIT 3: Upon adding some more prenatals and re-reading some recommendations, here's my newest game plan:

@fruitb Thank you so much for posting! Currently 2 months out from TTC and am taking Garden of Life and Nature Made prenatals (switching back and forth each day) because I just can’t decide but I’m thinking of switching next month to Baby & Me 2. It’s SOOO overwhelming to try and decide! I’m still deciding between Baby and Me 2, Vitamin Code and New Chapter. Your info will help me choose!

@hadasah So glad it helped! I was originally considering Baby & Me 2 but the reviews for the one available on Amazon said it came moldy or with tampered seals, and I haven't seen it available in any stores near me :(