Non M-F 9-5 workers, how hard is working holidays/weekends?

infomommax

I’m a nurse and plan to go part time back to bedside after working a regular 9-5 schedule (for the most part) for over 4 years. For a short time, I did 3 12 hour shifts during the week which was a dream except for the on call, so I know I like the long days but less days more.

But I’m worried about the FOMO for weekends/holidays. Now is the time while I have young kids who won’t remember. Obviously we will just celebrate Christmas or Thanksgiving on a different day, but I still dread it.

@infomommax I am not a shift worker but my husband was. As the at home spouse, I hated and loved it. I hated it that we could never do things as a family on the weekends and most activities are weekend based. So I was often doing those fun family activities alone. Which sucked. BUT, I really enjoyed having my husband home on a random Wednesday because when we did go out for family activities, places were generally pretty quiet because most of families were at work. I know this isn't really what you're asking, but I gave an answer anyway because I do what I want. (I'm joking here, in case that wasn't clear)

Also, for holidays.. my extended family was never very kind about us having to celebrate on different days. Like we would celebrate Christmas on December 28th because it was usually a safe bet that my husband would be able to take that day off. My family though would make shitty comments or they wouldn't be interested in celebrating on a different day. So that also sucked but I think that's more a family thing rather than a shift worker thing.