Need some advice, I’ll be taking in my niece with some issues

tlddlt16

A bit of background about her, she’s coming from a very troubled background.
Previous sex abuse, she’s grown up in a broken household with a revolving door of new parental figures and people on drugs.

She’s seven, doesn’t trust anyone or let anyone close to her.
She’s aggressive at times, screaming, throwing things ect.
She doesn’t accept or participate in any form of discipline.
Put her in the corner and she’l walk out and tell you to go “” yourself.
Her biological mother tried to spank her and my niece struck her with an old broom handle when it was over because “Momma started it”.

She’s not a bad child by any means, I’m not trying to push that image.
She’s a young girl that’s been through far more than anyone should have too and doesn’t trust anymore.
I plan to get her into therapy and try to make a stable, structured environment for her.

This being said, I have no previous experience with troubled youth or abused children.
I would greatly appreciate any advice from anyone here with experience in this type of situation.

@tlddlt16 I understand how difficult this type of situation must be for both the child and the caretakers. Typically children from these types of backgrounds respond differently to traditional discipline methods, but it doesn’t render them outright ineffective more than it necessitates a different mindset and more grit and patience on the part of the parental figure.