Mat leave = foot in the door or stay put?

cjibhstcszjb

I’m a pharmacist. I currently have a full time permanent job in a retail pharmacy. I like my work and my coworkers are nice. Health benefits are good (which is significant as I’m on about $10,000 of meds a year) but there’s no pension. Hours are 9-6. Pay is comparable to other pharmacist positions. Foot traffic is very slow lately due to COVID and even before this mess happened, business was slow to the point that my boss told me they were watching the bank balance weekly to make sure they had enough money there for our pay checks and to pay our drug supplier. Put it this way - there’s a good chance this place goes out of business/my hours get cut before I retire (but might not be likely in the next couple of years, as the owners have said they’ll hang on to staff until they are forced to cut hours)!

There’s a mat leave at the hospital posted. I applied because I’m worried my hours will be cut at my current job, and I want to keep my doors open (seemed silly not to apply). Hospital positions are slightly better paid per hour (not significant), hours are 8:30-4:30, there’s a pension plan and there are health benefits, but not great prescription drug coverage, so I’d have to pay $10,000 a year for the drugs I’m on. I assume I would like the work but I’ve never worked as a pharmacist in the hospital (I did as a student and the work was fine). I know there are some interpersonal issues between staff there. There’s a chance a permanent 0.2 EFT gets posted shortly, and I have word that another 0.2 EFT might be posted in the next year. Whoever gets this mat leave position will be offered those permanent jobs first. But of course, the 0.2 (which was just recently vacated) is subject to treasury board approval and with everything COVID going on, there’s no guarantee.