I feel like I'm exhausted and out of my depth here

jal11180

FTM, with nine-day old son. It was an emergency C-section, as my bp shot up to 200/100. I was exactly 37 weeks along. My husband travelled 18 hours to where we were, and managed to arrive within the first 24 hours of life.

I had to stay longer in the maternity ward due to my bp. Hubby and I are total newbies with this parenting thing, with neither of us holding an infant before in our lives. While I was there in the ward, my milk supply was low and we had to supplement with milk from the milk bank. Pedia comes along, and tells me, your job is to breastfeed, breastfeed, breastfeed. Somehow, maybe she didn't mean it, but I felt totally inadequate providing sustenance for my child. Hubby bought a breast pump, and we promised to use it at home.

My supply increased when we got home. But the cycle of feeding, diaper changing and trying to live put a toll on the both of us. We were both very exhausted. I ended up lying in bed and feeding him there, with him beside me, as I couldn't keep myself awake feeding him. My back and arms ached so much.

A couple of days after getting home, my blood pressure went up again. We had no choice but to bring the baby along to the hospital. While I was hooked to an ECG machine, my husband had to comfort our crying baby. Kindly people in the waiting area went round and offered help and tips.

I was admitted and couldn't get to the maternity ward, as the issue was my bp.

The first night we didn't even have a bassinet. I kept asking the night nurse and he said that all the bassinets were taken. The next day a kindly nurse assistant went by to change the sheets. She saw the baby and we got to talking. She had herself just came out of maternity leave and had a four-month old. She saw me nursing the baby sideways, and she asked, concerned, if my pedia was okay with it because it might cause aspiration. I took it to mind. She was kind enough to help make sure we get that bassinet.