Decided to homeschool for now

alidvx

We live in an area where the pandemic is not taken seriously. But, our oldest (going into kindergarten) has health issues that put her in the high risk category. They just announced that masks with be optional for everyone, regardless of vaccination status. So, we decided that I will homeschool her and our 3 yr old. We also have a 7 month old. I've been going through a mix of emotions. I'm happy that I'm able to do this, given her health. I'm bummed that she doesn't get a super social kindergarten year. I'm overwhelmed with planning curriculums and merging Pre-K and K. (We did Playing Preschool last year so my youngest will do part 2 this year. Thankfully that is super easy to follow.) I'm excited for a twist on what I've been doing for the past 5 years. I have no idea how I'm going to do this with a 7 month old on my hip. I'm encouraged by the support we've seen from family and friends in this decision. I'm happy for one more year with my oldest at home. (I seriously felt like I was losing a limb with her going. I knew she would love it and it was going to be great for her, but I also knew I would miss her so much.) I feel judged by people that don't know our situation. But I also know that this is the best decision for our family right now. The past year and a half have been a rollercoaster for everyone so I know I'm not alone.

Anyone else tackling homeschooling this year?

@alidvx How was playing preschool?? I love most things busy toddler does and have been considering the program for my own (very) busy toddler.