Branddddd new and would love feedback on my plan!

deeppeace

Hi! I’m brand new to this and will be a FTM this spring. I never thought I’d cloth diaper and thought about it at the very beginning of my pregnancy but wrote it off since we live in a rental with a very very small space. Here I am halfway through and I’m really thinking I want to do this! I don’t plan to cloth diaper full time, at least from the start—I more just want to try this out without too much pressure on myself and see how it works for us. It seems pretty straightforward once you get the hang of all of the options and the lingo, so I do feel confident that I can at least cloth diaper while we are at home. I’m okay with using disposables when we are out so that’s my plan for now, but who knows, maybe I’ll change my mind as I get the hang of it! I’m undecided on what I’ll do at night. I was thinking that for the first few weeks we’d start in disposables while we adjust to having a baby and then move to cloth at home.

I’ve spent a lot of time poking around this sub and YouTube and I think my plan makes sense, but I’d love feedback on it! I’m thinking I’d like to do a mix of pockets and fitteds, especially because my husband is most comfortable with these two options, as well as try prefolds with covers.

I have not had a shower yet so would really like to register for cloth diaper supplies! This partly drove some of my choices as I think it’s easier for and more likely people will purchase sets vs individual diapers. Maybe of note? Not sure? is that we do not have Amazon and don’t really use it, so I chose options from company websites, I’m not sure if options differ on Amazon. Here is my rough plan so far:
  • Nora’s Nursery 7 pack pocket diapers with inserts
  • Nora’s Nursery 7 pack additional bamboo inserts (I read that most of the time one insert isn’t enough and to get extra)
  • Esembly try it kit Size 1
  • Possibly an extra 3 pack inner and one outer from Esembly in Size 1